Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Regional Transportation Advisory Committee

​The Planning and Development Department continues to represent Mifflin County on the SEDA-COG Regional Transportation Advisory Committee, which makes transportation recommendations to the SEDA-COG Board of Directors and PennDOT. The committee is responsible for recommending projects for the state’s Twelve Year Transportation Plan, assisting in the development of the SEDA-COG Area Transportation Improvement Plan, and reviewing and recommending projects submitted for Transportation Enhancement and Home Town Streets and Safe Routes to School funding. The committee also evaluates bikeway and railroad planning matters for the region.
Applications for the Transportation Enhancements program can be submitted every two years. Eligible projects include design, utility relocation, and construction projects; bicycle and pedestrian facilities; scenic easements; tourist facilities; landscaping along transportation corridors; historic preservation; mitigation of water pollution due to runoff; and transportation museums. Previously funded projects in Mifflin County include the improvements to Montgomery Avenue in Lewistown presented to the committee in 2000, the restoration of the Stone Arch Bridge in 2002, and the Dorcas Street Gateway Enhancement project in 2004. During 2004, the committee began reviewing projects funded under the Home Town Streets and Safe Routes to School program, which is very similar to the Transportation Enhancement program, except that it focuses exclusively on downtown areas. Phase I of the Monument Square Streetscape Project will be funded through the Home Town Streets program, and funding for Phase II of the project has also been requested from this program.


Copyright © 2015 Mifflin County - All Rights Reserved.
Site hosted and developed by CCAP